Areas of Learning

This is a link to the government’s statutory framework, which is mandatory for all early years providers

The Early Years Foundation Stage is a statutory curriculum for children age 0-5 years. It emphasises that through play children learn very effectively.

Within the EYFS are goals, which most children are expected to achieve before the end of the year in the Reception class. The steps which children take as they progress towards these goals are known as Development Matters.

The EYFS is divided into seven areas of learning and development, all are important and inter-connected.

These seven areas consist of:

Three prime areas

Communication and Language

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Physical Development

Four specific areas:



Understanding the World

Expressive Arts and Design


All areas of learning are equally as important and children do not separate their learning into subject areas, however, we consider that personal and social skills are vital to children's success, and include:

Forming relationships with others

Having respect for other people

Being an individual and belonging to a community

Being able to express feelings and emotions

Becoming independent and helping others

Being able to make choices and taking responsibility

Understanding right and wrong

Understanding appropriate behaviour

Empathising with others

Developing persistence and resilience